Chapter History

Ivis Ordoñez and Liana Gregory researched multicultural sororities and came across Theta Nu Xi Multicultural Sorority, Inc. They were interested in bringing a multicultural sorority to the University of Florida, not only because they didn't feel that they fit with existing sororities on campus, but also because they wanted to be a part of an organization whose foundation and ideals rested upon multiculturalism. In December of 2003, Ivis and Liana immediately contacted the national organization to get further information on bringing Theta Nu Xi to the UF campus.


In time, the then-current Director of Expansion for Theta Nu Xi, Nicole Taylor, put these interested ladies in touch with Jessica Goodwin who also contacted Nationals with interest in bringing the organization to UF. After recruiting a few more ladies, an interest group was born. A letter of intent was submitted by the national sorority to the University of Florida Greek life on February 3, 2004. On March 4, 2004, Lady Monarchs became an official Greek Interest Group for Theta Nu Xi Multicultural Sorority, Inc.

In order to become recognized by the Multicultural Greek Council, the interest group was to follow the guidelines set forth by the MGC constitution. The Lady Monarchs functioned as a normal sorority would, volunteering at community service events, sponsoring educational forums, and hosting social and fundraising events. The interest group worked hard to prove to the council that they could bring a self-sufficient sorority to campus. Despite completing a proposal and presentation of their numerous achievements as an Interest Group, the members of the Lady Monarchs were faced with much adversity. With a lot of hard work, dedication, persistence and the help of the UF Greek Life, the Interest group would overcome these trials and tribulations. The Lady Monarchs were granted Associate Member status of the Multicultural Greek Council on April 5, 2005, over a year after becoming an official interest group.


The founders of the Alpha Alpha Chapter became official members of Theta Nu Xi Multicultural Sorority, Inc. on June 4, 2005. These ladies are as follows: Jennifer Janet Castro, Ivis Ordoñez, Liana Marie Gregory, Arlene Patricia Solano, Shari Alicia Roberts, Jennifer Fajardo, Charlene Chai Yin Liu, Natoya Felicia Abel, and Jessica Denise Goodwin. The long awaited Founding M.O.T.I.V.A.T.I.O.N. line of the Alpha Alpha Chapter emerged at the University of Florida on August 27, 2005.